Advocacy Alert

The House and Senate are in recess for the summer months. They will have a limited calendar for the remainder of the year. This will make movement of legislation such as HB 5232 much more difficult. We have learned that interest may be waning by those originally pushing the bill. This is positive news and we are thrilled that opposition efforts have had such a tremendous impact! We thank you for your outstanding support over the past several months. MHPN continues to keep a close eye on any mention of HB 5232 being referred into another committee and the possibility of lame duck vote.

Board Members and Staff


Nancy Finegood, Lansing
Executive Director

Amanda Reintjes, Greater Michigan
MHPN/NTHP Field Representative

Ellen Thackery, Southeast Michigan
MHPN/NTHP Field Representative

Reinhardt_pic reduced size

Jennifer Reinhardt, Detroit
MHPN/NTHP Preservation Specialist

Katie Large, Lansing
Assistant to the Director

Xiaohan Bao 3.2015 resized

Xiaohan Bao, Lansing
Historic Properties Coordinator


Gary Scheuren, Lansing
MHPN Programs Director



Ruth E. Mills, Ypsilanti
Awards Committee Chair

Dave Varney, South Haven

Katie Kolokithas, Brighton

Denise McGeen, Detroit
Membership Chair

Executive Committee

Robin Adair, Ann Arbor

Nancy Villa Bryk, Ann Arbor

Ken Czapski, Marquette

Emily Jarvi, Lansing
Development Chair

Mike Kirk, Dearborn
Revolving Fund Committee Chair

Janet Kreger, Ann Arbor
Development Committee Chair

Karen Nagher, Detroit

Greg Saxton, Midland
Public Policy Co-Chair


Dawn Bilobran, Detroit

Christine Bowman, Jonesville

Ron Campbell, Flint

Rob Dwortz, Grand Rapids

Cheryl Early, Plymouth

Richard Hosey, Detroit

Tim Hunnicutt, Dewitt

Gregory Jones, Ann Arbor

Aaron Jonker, Grand Rapids

Richard Karp, Lansing

Gary Rentrop, Bloomfield Hills

Jim Schmiechen, Douglas





Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On LinkedinVisit Us On Youtube